Gold Chart

Australian Lunar Series Gold Coins

australian lunar series gold coin Australian Lunar Series Gold Coins

The Australian Lunar Series consists of 12 different motives which are based on the Chinese Lunar calendar. The first motive was minted in 1996 with the mouse as animal. 12 years later, in 2007 the lunar calendar and the coin series ended its cycle with the Pig. This series is known as the Lunar Series I to distinguish it from a second set of lunar coins, stated in 2008 (Lunar Series II).

The coins are struck by the Perth Mint. The denominations of the first Lunar series range from 1/20oz to 1kg. The second Lunar series has weight of between 1/20oz to 10kg. The gold coins have a purity of 999,9, 24-karat. The face value of the 1 ounce coin is 100 Australian dollars. The one-ounce gold coins are limited to 30,000 per year.

The edge is reeded. The obverse shows the current animal of the Chinese lunar calendar. The cycle begins with the Mouse (1996/2008), continues with the Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and ends with the Pig (2007/2019). Other information are the purity and the year of minting. The reverse depicts the head of the Commonwealth, Queen Elisabeth II and the face value. the portrait of the queen has changed in 1999 to a more mature queen.

Filed under: Gold Coins, Gold Pictures